System of Rank

Colour Belt   Black Belt
White Belt 10th Gup   1st Dan Assistant Instructor
Yellow Tip 9th Gup   2nd Dan Assistant Instructor
Yellow Belt 8th Gup   3rd Dan Assistant Instructor
Green Tip 7th Gup   4th Dan International Instructor
Green Belt 6th Gup   5th Dan International Instructor
Blue Tip 5th Gup   6th Dan International Instructor
Blue Belt 4th Gup   7th Dan Master Instructor
Red Tip 3rd Gup   8th Dan Master Instructor
Red Belt 2nd Gup   9th Dan Grandmaster
Black Tip 1st Gup      
A beginner starts out at White Belt 10th Gup, progressing to 9th Gup, then 8th, and so on until Black Tip 1st Gup. From White Belt 10th Gup to Red Belt 2nd Gup, grading is usually carried out every 3 months. A Black Tip 1st Gup has to train for at least 6 months before he is eligible to grade for 1st Dan. A person usually attains Black Belt 1st Dan in two and a half years to four years, depending on ability, and frequency of training and grading.

For Black Belts, the minimum time requirement for testing are:

  • 1st to 2nd Dan: 2 years
  • 2nd to 3rd Dan: 3 years
  • 3rd to 4th Dan: 4 years
  • etc.

To be an Examiner, one must be at least a 4th Dan Black Belt.



Meanings of Belt Colours

Colour Meaning
White Signifies innocence, as that of a beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Taekwon-Do.
Yellow Signifies the Earth from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the Taekwon-Do foundation is being laid.
Green Signifies the plant's growth as the Taekwon-Do skill begins to develop.
Blue Signifies the Heaven, towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Taekwon-Do progresses.
Red Signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.
Black Opposite of White, therefore signifying the maturity and proficiency in Taekwon-Do. It also indicates the wearer's imperviousness to darkness and fear.


Master Choi Jung Hwa, General Choi's son, performing flying side kick.